concept

"KleOPERtra" is an intercultural opera project for children in which an opera and accompanying workshops for school classes are to be realised.

The musicians from the Arabic Music Institute AMIBerlin and Stella Maris Barockensemble under the artistic direction of soprano Juliane Schubert are involved.

The aim is to inspire a young audience for baroque and Arabic music and to let them experience in their own artistic process how the language of music is able to build cultural bridges.

Trailer

Video: Simon Hertling

opera production

In the newly developed musical theatre piece, the narrator "Achillas", supreme Egyptian general, takes the children on a journey into the past.
He tells the story of Cleopatra and Caesar's encounter from his own personal perspective. In the intriguing power struggles of antiquity, Achillas stained his hands with blood and has been pondering his life in the realm of the dead ever since. A colourful little bird joins him and a philosophical conversation about life, death, revenge, forgiveness and universal love ensues.

Arias and baroque instrumental movements from the Handel opera "Giulio Cesare in Egitto" were chosen to musically translate the encounter of cultures in the opera and were contrasted and enriched with traditional and modern Arabic music.
In a constant musical dialogue, the styles merge more and more in the course of the piece and thus form a common musical language. To achieve this, the musicians from the Stella Maris Baroque Ensemble, who play the original sound on historical instruments, and their colleagues from the Arabic Music Institute Berlin, who play and teach the traditional Arabic instruments with virtuosity, enter into a creative process of musical exchange and improvisation in order to create something new together.

Alongside Achillas' narratives, accompanied by the delicate sounds of the oud in a fairytale-like manner, the events come to life in musical images. The characters of the story are embodied by singers and dancers and played, sung and danced from different perspectives in the space. The audience sits on cushions in the middle of the action. The changing focus is visually supported by imaginative light projections. These immerse the existing scenery in a new light so that artistic worlds come to life. This fires the imagination and allows young and old to immerse themselves fully in the story and music.

The play is designed for primary school children in terms of content and length and is to be premiered at an inspiring venue in Berlin.

Grafik: Katharina Berndt

workshops

In the run-up to the performance, workshops for school classes are planned, in which the children themselves become creative and prepare for the opera visit.
They playfully learn about the speciality of the baroque and Arabic instruments and the two musical styles and invent their own musical pieces in child-friendly improvisation units.

Based on the opera, they philosophise about the themes of power, revenge, forgiveness and love and transfer this to their own lifeworld in order to write their own personal story together. With the help of music, art and media educators, they translate this into music and shadow theatre and create an animated music video.

The results of all participating classes will be brought together with impressions from the opera production in a "musical picture book". In it, the stories and silhouette pictures created in the workshops can be seen and the plot and characters of the opera are introduced. Lovingly inserted QR codes in the illustration provide a link to the music videos they produced themselves and give a vivid impression of the children's artistic creative process.
 

contributors

Juliane Schubert - Idea, project management, singing

Bettina Inés Truffat - artistic co-direction, dance

Christine Trinks - direction "Stella Maris Barockensemble", baroque violin

Nabil Arbaain - direction AMIBerlin, Oud

ensemble

Trailerproduktion August 2021

funded by "Neustart Kultur"

contact form

Thank you for your interest. You can send us a message here:

  • Dieses Feld bitte leer lassen!!!

Konzept

„KleOPERtra“ ist ein interkulturelles Opernprojekt für Kinder, in dem eine Oper und begleitende Workshops für Schulklassen realisiert werden sollen.

Beteiligt sind die Musiker und Musikerinnen vom Arabic Music Institute AMIBerlin und Stella Maris Barockensemble unter der künstlerischen Leitung der Sopranistin Juliane Schubert.

Ziel ist es, ein junges Publikum für barocke und arabische Musik zu begeistern und im eigenen künstlerischen Prozess erleben zu lassen, wie die Sprache der Musik es vermag kulturelle Brücken zu bauen.

Trailer

Video: Simon Hertling

Opernproduktion

In dem neu entwickelten Musiktheaterstück nimmt der Erzähler „Achillas“, oberster ägyptischer Feldherr, die Kinder mit auf eine Reise in die Vergangenheit.
Er erzählt die Geschichte der Begegnung Kleopatras und Cäsars aus seiner ganz persönlichen Perspektive. In den intriganten Machtkämpfen der Antike hat Achillas seine Hände mit Blut befleckt und sinniert seitdem im Totenreich über sein Leben. Da gesellt sich ein buntes Vögelchen zu ihm und es entspinnt sich eine philosophische Unterhaltung über Leben, Tod, Rache, Vergebung und die universelle Liebe.

Um die Begegnung der Kulturen in der Oper musikalisch umzusetzen wurden Arien und barocke Instrumentalsätze aus der Händel-Oper „Giulio Cesare in Egitto“ ausgewählt und mit traditioneller und moderner arabischer Musik kontrastiert und bereichert.
Im beständigen musikalischen Dialog verschmelzen die Stile im Verlauf des Stückes immer mehr miteinander und bilden so eine gemeinsame musikalische Sprache. Dafür begeben sich die Musiker und Musikerinnen vom Stella Maris Barockensemble, die den Originalklang auf historischen Instrumenten musizieren und ihre Kollegen vom Arabic Music Institute Berlin, die das traditionelle arabische Instrumentarium virtuos spielen und lehren, in einen schöpferischen Prozess des musikalischen Austauschs und der Improvisation, um gemeinsam etwas Neues zu erschaffen.

Neben Achillas‘ Erzählungen, von zarten Klängen der Oud märchenhaft untermalt, wird das Geschehen in musikalischen Bildern lebendig. Dabei werden die Figuren der Geschichte von Sänger*innen und Tänzer*innen verkörpert und aus verschiedenen Perspektiven im Raum gespielt, gesungen und getanzt. Das Publikum sitzt auf Kissen mitten im Geschehen. Visuell unterstützt wird der wandelnde Fokus durch fantasievolle Lichtprojektionen. Diese tauchen die vorhandene Kulisse in ein neues Licht, sodass kunstvolle Welten lebendig werden. Dies beflügelt die Fantasie und lässt Jung und Alt voll und ganz in Geschichte und Musik eintauchen.

Das Stück ist inhaltlich und von der Länge für Grundschulkinder konzipiert und soll an einem inspirierenden Ort in Berlin uraufgeführt werden.

Grafik: Katharina Berndt

Workshops

Im Vorfeld der Aufführung sind Workshops für Schulklassen geplant, in denen die Kinder selbst kreativ werden und sich auf den Opernbesuch vorbereiten. Sie lernen spielerisch die Besonderheiten des barocken und arabischen Instrumentariums und der Musikstile kennen und erfinden in kindgerechten Improvisationseinheiten eigene Musikstücke.

Ausgehend von der Oper philosophieren sie über die Themen Macht, Rache, Vergebung und Liebe und übertragen dies auf ihre eigene Lebenswelt, um gemeinsam ihre ganz persönliche Geschichte zu schreiben. Mit Hilfe von Musik-, Kunst- und Medienpädagog*innen setzen sie diese musikalisch und als Schattentheater um und erstellen daraus ein animiertes Musikvideo.

Die Ergebnisse aller teilnehmenden Klassen werden gemeinsam mit Eindrücken aus der Opernproduktion in einem „musikalischen Bilderbuch“ zusammengeführt. Darin sind die in den Workshops entstandenen Geschichten und Scherenschnittbilder zu sehen und es werden die Handlung und die Personen der Oper vorgestellt. Liebevoll in die Illustration eingefügte QR-Codes führen als Link zu den selbst produzierten Musikvideos und geben einen lebendigen Eindruck von dem künstlerischen Schaffensprozess der Kinder.

Mitwirkende

Juliane Schubert - Idee, Projektleitung, Gesang

Bettina Inés Truffat - künstlerische Co-Leitung, Tanz

Christine Trinks - Leitung Stella Maris Barockensemble, Barockvioline

Nabil Arbaain - Leitung AMIBerlin, Oud

Ensemble

Trailerproduktion August 2021

Die Konzeption des Projektes und die Planung der Trailerproduktion August 2021 im Elias-Kuppelsaal Berlin wurden mit Mitteln aus dem Bundesprogramm "Neustart Kultur" gefördert.

Die Deckung der Produktionskosten wurden durch eine private Großspende ermöglicht.
Vielen herzlichen Dank!

Kontaktformular

Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse. Hier können Sie uns eine Nachricht senden:

  • Dieses Feld bitte leer lassen!!!